Okay, DJ won, whew! Now, the controversy over the (a) ruling about his ball moving by some source invisible to the video camera, and (b) the wording of the rule itself can both be abandoned as merely vocal fodder for the TV tongues and bar stool geniuses, right?
Not so fast. This post won’t be yet another pro/con word fest about the entire issue of whether the rules and the interpretation of the rules are and should be two entirely different things. But that is close to what it is about.
What I’m concerned with is this:
How in H E double L are players supposed to know what or what doesn’t move a ball when acts of God and gravity aren’t taken into consideration?
There’s a parkway running up the spine of Oakmont, so there must be vibrations of cars and trucks. Couldn’t they move the earth a bit? They sure do shake the collectible china from my grandmother’s shelves.
Golf balls are heavier than grass and spiked up turf, couldn’t the ball have simply been working on a move for many minutes before coincidentally succeeding just when DJ raised his putter behind the ball? I say, sure.
What about grass insects or worms hired by the competition to burrow and sabotage a DJ putt? What about sun and shade, known to move a ball tipping on the edge of the cup on a hot day? What about a drop of moisture that just then evaporated?
If DJ had lost the U.S. Open because of this guilty-unless-proven-innocent decision there would be chaos right now. It would be turmoil the likes we haven’t seen since Craig Stadler’s Towelgate incident.
But DJ won, the penalty did not take that away from him, and all is right with the Rules of Golf.
I think not. In this game, chaos does have to ensue to save the future innocent from an unjust demise. This time, no chaos, no change. Peace.
Congrats, DJ. Whew! At last.